Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Weblogic Server
What is Weblogic Server
Weblogic Server is a kind of server that supports various services as well as infrastructure that are related with JEE applications. WebLogic server is capable of deploying components as well as applications through WSDL, UDDI and SOAP. This server gets configured as a web server by making use of HTTP listener for supporting the HTTP. Web servers like that of Apache, Netscape and Microsoft are utilized.  The configuration of a web server allows WebLogic is capable of providing services to dynamic and static requests that are usually generated by servlets, HTML and JSP. Weblogic Server is a software product that acts as a liaison between front end and back end applications. Weblogic Application Server is widely used for its JMS capabilities. Later in these sessions we will learn in detail about Weblogic Installation, Security, JMS and Clustering.

The following are the various Weblogic Server versions released from 2o02. The most recent version of Weblogic is 12c.

Weblogic Versions
WebLogic Server 12c Release 3 (12.1.3) – June 26, 2014

WebLogic Server 12c Release 2 (12.1.2) – July 11, 2013

WebLogic Server 12c Release 1 (12.1.1) – Dec 1, 2011

WebLogic Server 11gR1 PS5 (10.3.6) – February 26, 2012

WebLogic Server 11gR1 PS4 (10.3.5) – May 16, 2011

WebLogic Server 11gR1 PS3 (10.3.4) – January 15, 2011

WebLogic Server 11gR1 PS2 (10.3.3) – April 2010

WebLogic Server 11gR1 PS1 (10.3.2) – Nov 2009

WebLogic Server 11g (10.3.1) – Jul 2009

WebLogic Server 10.3 – Aug 2008

WebLogic Server 10.0 – Mar 2007

WebLogic Server 9.2

WebLogic Server 9.1

WebLogic Server 9.0 – Nov 2006

WebLogic Server 8.1 – Jul 2003

WebLogic Server 7.0 – Jun 2002

Weblogic Server Core Components
Oracle WebLogic Server supports Oracle, DB2, MS SQL Server, MySQL Enterprise and other JDBC-compliant databases. Oracle Weblogic Platform also includes:

Core Components like Enterprise Grid Messaging , JMS Messaging Standard , Jrockit, Oracle Top Link, Oracle WebLogic Server Web Services, Tuxedo
Supported open standards like BPEL & BPEL-J, ebXML, JAAS, Java EE 1.3 & 1.4 & 5, JPA 1.0 (2.0 available), JMX and SNMP
Native support for: SOAP, UDDI, WSDL, WSRP, WS-Security, XSLT and XQuery
Standards support by version

The table below lists major standards supported by WebLogic Server product version.

Standard WLS 7.0 WLS 8.1 WLS 9.0 WLS 10.0 WLS 10.3
Java 1.3 1.4 5 5 6
Java EE 1.3 1.3 1.4 5 5
WebLogic Server System Administration
System administration of WebLogic Server includes a wide range of tasks: creating WebLogic Server domains; deploying applications; migrating domains from development environments to production environments; monitoring and managing the performance of the run-time system; and diagnosing and troubleshooting problems. (A WebLogic Server domain is a collection of WebLogic Server services designed for a specific purpose. For example, you might create one domain to provide an employee portal and another domain to provide business services to your customers.)

Because the WebLogic Server management system is based on Java EE and other standards, it integrates with systems that are frequently used to manage other software and hardware components. In addition, WebLogic Server includes several of its own standards-based, extensible utilities. Alternatively, you can use APIs to create custom management utilities.

At the end of this module you will be able to:

What are Software Component Tiers

The Web & Application Server and Differences

J2EE Platform and WebLogic Server

Weblogic Server Versions & Capabilities

Software Component Tiers
The software components of a multitier architecture consist of three tiers:

The client tier contains programs executed by users, including Web browsers and network-capable application programs. These programs can be written in virtually any programming language.
The middle tier contains WebLogic Server and other servers that are addressed directly by clients, such as existing Web servers or proxy servers.
The backend tier contains enterprise resources, such as database systems, mainframe and legacy applications, and packaged enterprise resource planning (ERP) applications.
Hey you mentioned many versions in Oracle Weblogic what is best using version now? Smile

Thank you for helping people gets the information they need. Great stuff as usual. Keep up the great work!!!

cheap logo design
This is extremely great information for these blog!! And Very good work. It is very interesting to learn from to easy understood. Thank you for giving information. Please let us know and more information get post to link. weblogic training

Forum Jump:

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)